wheels and hoofs – cycling and horses

Wrapping up Wyoming for 2014, I took a cycling ride from the cabin to Bear Gulch. It was about seven miles with one thousand feet of climbing. These days, that’s a hard ride for me. At the top, the as far as I can go top, I sat on a rock and ate some local cherries we had purchased at a local farmer’s market.

Resting at Bear Gulch

Resting at Bear Gulch

Many of you who know horses may think they prefer to hang about the corral with their buds just waiting until it’s time to go out to pasture. However my I-phone horse translator tells me that this one was saying… “What do you mean you didn’t take me to Bear Gulch with all the sweet grass… Are you crazy ? ” My legs and lungs said I should have listened.

Bear Gulch... that's a very serious matter!

Bear Gulch… that’s a very serious matter!

5 Comments on “wheels and hoofs – cycling and horses”

  1. Resa says:

    I knew there were horses on Twitter! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. beeseeker says:

    “If palominos could talk eh?

    • billgncs says:

      I am not a whisperer, but their ears tell one loads. When they lay their ears back they are angry. We were riding through Cow-camp, where the cowboys who monitor the cattle on the leased government land stay to monitor their cattle. On the way down, one of their horses running free came near us, and Cookie my horse lay back her ears and I could feel her weight shift as she waited to launch a big kick at the strange horse. I had to kick her into a different gait to get her out of kicking mode.

  3. beeseeker says:

    Your lungs and legs will get it right every now and then, but your heart must have a say too.
    πŸ˜‰


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

