boca raton just desserts – food

Maybe the last merger trip brought us down to Boca Raton where it was a sultry 80 degrees to the Chicago 40. If you get down to the Del Ray beach you can sit along the sidewalk at the City-Oyster and watch the pretty girls go by and enjoy a drink and delicious food. From the Prince Edward Island mussels cooked in white wine with caramelized onion to the smoked fish dip served with home made saltines you won’t be disappointed. A sip of one the local craft beers, a bite of saltine and the fish spread… a wonderful combination.

But the desserts were perfect too – key-lime pie which is cool and tangy, just the right cooling sensation for the warm weather.

never underestimate the subtle pleasure key-lime pie delivers

never underestimate the subtle pleasure key-lime pie delivers

And because we were sharing – we tried the pecan pie. Brash and bold, this pie was served in a glass with pie on the bottom, a layer of vanilla ice-cream, and then home-made marshmallows with a touch of caramel on top. It was the complete opposite of the pie, but outstanding in itself. The nice thing was that all the desserts were made in the restaurant, I like that. It makes the dining unique.

pecan pie taken to the next level

pecan pie taken to the next level

Consider adding the City-Oyster in Del Ray to your dining list.

19 Comments on “boca raton just desserts – food”

  1. ManicDdaily says:

    Ha. I had a very dear friend who used to visit her parents in Del Ray Beach. (She later died of breast cancer.) I once met up with her and her family half-way between Del Ray and where my own parents live. I always think of the place with great affection. Thanks. k.

  2. cperrington says:

    It may be on the other side of the state from where I live, but I believe when my family and I take our next trip to the Florida Keys, we’ll make a stop here. If the Key Lime pie is as good as you say, it’ll definitely be worth it.

  3. vbholmes says:

    That pecan pie looks wicked good, but huge, especially after the goodies that preceded it. Looks like a great day à la table in Boca, Bill.

  4. Clanmother says:

    I love the idea of sharing food…

  5. I may have to stop visiting your blog. You tease me with those delicious looking deserts. 🙂

  6. Prince Edward Island mussels as in Canadian maritime province Prince Edward Island?? Very cool! That key lime pie – I now have a hankering for it!
    Diana xo

  7. Resa says:

    Love Key Lime pie! I made my first one this summer….. I need to work on it more! “lol” (It was sort of chewy)


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

