philly – cycling and food

It was blustery, I mean windy in Philly when my favorite youngest and her boyfriend took me through the city traffic to the bike path along the Schuylkill river. We had seven hard miles out, and then blew back like leaves tossed in the wind.

Cold, Sunny and windy along a tributary to the Delaware

Cold, Sunny and windy along a tributary to the Delaware

You just don’t go anywhere in Philly without finding something historical, and some of the stonework on the bridges or off the path is outstanding. But when we passed Paine park, which surely must be named after Thomas Paine, the author of “Common Sense” where he railed against primogeniture and the monarchy for the right of the common man, I thought history has a sense of humor. He got a skate park.

Returning, windswept we could see the setting sun reflecting gold against the sky-scrapers, and I was reminded of how the Spaniards must have felt about El Dorado, the city of gold. The city skyline is very nice, and nicely lit at night.

If you get to Philly, stop at Monk’s Cafe for Chimay beer, brewed in Belgium by Trappist monks where it with the restaurant’s wonderful scallops and mussels will fill you with pleasure.

And the one place that is a must visit is the Rim Cafe in South Philly. It is truly the best hot chocolate I have found ( my previous favorite was a little place near Garmisch at the border of Germany and Austria ) but at the Rim cafe, they are passionate about chocolate and everything is hand made. it’s expensive but the drinks are lovingly prepared

Each glass is meticulously prepared

Each glass is meticulously prepared

When they have drizzled the salty caramel, or the dark chocolate and add the molten hot chocolate ( either dark or milk ) you won’t regret it. I almost tried the edible gold cannoli ( but Jan convinced me a $24.00 pastry was over the top )

Here’s two of our drinks almost ready, before they added shavings of chocolate truffle and other amazing toppings…

almost ready... just a perfect cookie, and hazlenut, berry and chocolate truffle shavings to add....

almost ready… just a perfect cookie, and hazlenut, berry and chocolate truffle shavings to add….

Philly – a good place to cycle and enjoy the table.

42 Comments on “philly – cycling and food”

  1. InfiniteZip says:

    My sister lived outside Philly, I love cheesesteaks myself but have never been there. I love food in general…biking, not so much, only motorcycles 😊 lazy that way.

  2. I shouldn’t be reading you while hungry! I will travel for chocolate,so Rim Cafe is on my list. Thank you!

  3. bert0001 says:

    Chimay is also one of my favourites … they have it in our local supermarket, together with cote-d’or (el dorado in french?) chocolate … thx for your interesting posts and for making me think about drinking one of those great beers πŸ™‚

  4. In my next life, I hope to be a cyclist stopping at wonderful exotic chocolaty places eating rare foods…Sounds like heaven to me!

  5. uldissprogis says:

    Thanks for your feedback. I added a paragraph and updated my blog on obedience. Thanks.

  6. I do not know how I missed the one in Germany. But, I will not miss the one in Philly next time.

  7. Clanmother says:

    You really have an artistic flair for travel and food. After I read your posts, I usually feel hungry and then have a urge to go on an adventure.

  8. ivyon says:

    Passing by saying hiiii πŸ™‚ And now hungry, thank you! πŸ™‚

  9. Resa says:

    Keep on cycling and eating!

  10. Cara Thereon says:

    Oh that chocolate is decadent!

  11. Lily Lau says:

    Wow, even if it’s expensive I think it’s totally worth it!

  12. I tell you I have stop following you. That drink looks simply orgasmic.

  13. I was there with you in the blustery winds, hearing Tom Paine,and drinking hot chocolate in what looked like champagne glasses.

    How much were the hot choc’s if the cannolis were $24.00?

  14. How decadent! The dessert that is…Glad you enjoyed your ride with the youngest. ❀
    Diana xo


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

