movies and biking and hotdogs

I was going to call this post “A hotdog and a movie” … but that might be misconstrued as self referencing…

First the movie: Mr Pip with Hugh Laurie. If you love the great books and Dickens in particular, then this story of a small Island caught between the Soldiers and the rebels in a revolution – and the impact that story can have is brilliantly done. The location is exotic and the flashbacks to Pip’s England with an island flair are magic. The lesson is honorable as well, in that moment of choice – who do we choose to be. I just had to tell someone.

If you drive an hour or so out of Chicagoland into Indiana you can find the Erie Lackawana bike path. It’s a pleasant well maintained rails to trails kind of path. You can link it with the Monon trail which has a more urban feel and loop it in to get a nice 50 or so miles. This sign near the trail seemed to show the perfect business… 24 hour laundromat, milk-shakes and hot-dogs. Maybe Indiana is cycling heaven…

Have I fainted in the heat and awakened in cycling heaven ?  Well,  Indiana anyway.

Have I fainted in the heat and awakened in cycling heaven ? Well, Indiana anyway.

For our lunch, we had a hot dog and a root-beer float ( generic root-beer ) but hunger is the best sauce….

15 Comments on “movies and biking and hotdogs”

  1. I like hot dogs ok, I own a bike… but not a bike path and I prefer smoothies over milk shakes. Ok, I’m in…

  2. Shannon says:

    I’m definitely going to check that movie out!

  3. reocochran says:

    I like small towns and country roads in a car. I see bicyclists and admire their taking their lives into their own hands, so to speak on roads. I love biking paths and have not been on a bike very often but would enjoy this very much.
    I like hot dogs on a grill or at a ball park. I bet a hot dog on a bike trip would suit me just fine!
    My biggest bike trip was in 1974 from Cleveland suburb to Kelley’s Island, via a ferry. Our Science Club field trip was to see the glacial grooves but we had so much fun camping and biking.
    I love when people make a ‘float bar’ with red pop, orange soda, coke or root beer. All of them taste good, individually. Depending on the day, my favorites are the strawberry red pop and vanilla, or the orange ‘Crush’ and vanilla. My Dad called the ones made with chocolate ice cream a “Brown cow.” Have you ever heard of this expression? Smiles!

    • billgncs says:

      I have heard the Brown cow term ! I’ll have to tell you about the time I lived next to the owner of the Stadium mustard corporation… he was a total wild man.

      Though I love root-beer, and when I travel I always seek out local brands – the single best soda I have ever had occured in about 1976. It was at the Under-23 rugby trials in Indianapolis. It must have been about 100 degrees in the shade, and everyone was full go to make the team. Afterwards, someone had a cooler full of ice and Orange Crush soda. The heat, the exhaustion, the icy cold orange pop…. a perfect memory.

  4. jackcollier7 says:

    I have no idea what a ‘root beer float’ is. Sounds a little odd to this staid Englishman, but then I also lived for a while in New York, where everything is odd.

    • billgncs says:

      root beer is a soda which is sweet, made from roots – it has a flavor similar to ginger beer, but stronger. You take a glass of root-beer and put in a scoop of vanilla ice cream. It is a very fine combination for a hot day.

  5. Never had a smoot es shake.
    Although i am considering giving up my frozen dinners for the next 12 months, so that I can have a fresh food year.
    Sounds like a great biking day.

    My wife and I rode the trike to the only covered bridge in South Florida, in of all places, Coral Springs, had breakfast at the trusty Pancake House, drove on to a local Flea Market, and hid under a bridge on I-95 waiting out a small storm. Randy

  6. True dat. It’s funny how everything tastes good when you’re hungry! ❤
    Diana xo


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

