michelson trail day 2 – travel cycling

I’d missed the deluge ( 3 inches of rain in an hour in the mountains means floods. ) In today’s 59 miles there would be several 9 mile descents and instead of mostly open vista’s, the ride would include more canyons and several tunnels.

It followed along and crossed rushing mountain streams,

rushing mountain streams

rushing mountain streams

And Jan kept finding places where the road intersected the trail and surprising me…

My beautiful support team

My beautiful support team

About 20 miles in, my tire started to flatten, and my portable pump no longer worked. That left me pedaling up hill for about seven miles on about 2PSI ( Pounds per inch. ) Few things equal the annoyance of carrying extra weight almost 100 miles in the mountains and finding when you need it it doesn’t work. But Jan had a pump in the car and at the next trailhead I replaced the tube. I was ready for more long downhills

The start of a several mile descent - my kind of riding, easy to get over 20 mph on the mountain bike

The start of a several mile descent – my kind of riding, easy to get over 30 mph on the mountain bike

Through tunnels ( mostly short ) ….

It's a new experience riding when it's completely dark...

It’s a new experience riding when it’s completely dark…

And up to the last meadow before the end. The burst of green aspen leaves is one of my favorite memories.

The view from about 6,500 feet above sea level and the final descent into Deadwood

The view from about 6,500 feet above sea level and the final descent into Deadwood

Near the end… I was a bit saddened… I wish the trail never ended.

Mile 100, I rest my trusty steed for the last nine miles downhill

Mile 100, I rest my trusty steed for the last nine miles downhill

But things end, even the good ones… and I was left with lingering reminders… I’d lathered on bug spray on my exposed flesh, never realizing the mosquitoes would bite right through my spandex leaving me with 40 itching memories on my behind and the back of my legs

Blue skies and the trail ahead, but bring your bug spray

Blue skies and the trail ahead, but bring your bug spray

This is a bike ride that’s worth the effort.

17 Comments on “michelson trail day 2 – travel cycling”

  1. reocochran says:

    I am going to check your posts out. Maybe out of order, playing catch up. I like the idea of Jan surprising you. 🙂

  2. Resa says:

    Nice one, Bill! (Jan, too!)

  3. Joyce says:

    All the recent rains and thick forest foliage contribute much to the mosquito problem, too in those areas, I’m sure.

  4. Wow you’re really laying tracks Bill! Glad you’re enjoying yourself. ❤
    Diana xo

  5. globalunison says:

    It’s always amazing to be part of your cycling journeys. I simply love the pictures.

    -Naima


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

