premium popcorn – food

We’re a popcorn family. Popped up in the microwave with a little melted butter and salt added, eaten with chopsticks ( the kids discovered this to keep from getting their fingers greasy and it’s become a family tradition ) popcorn is the perfect movie food for at home while we sprawl across the couch or lounge in the recliner chair.

But can popcorn be gourmet ? Can you get popcorn non GMO grown from a family farm? Will it taste better ? The answer is a resounding yes.

GMO free popcorn from a family farm in Iowa.

GMO free popcorn from a family farm in Iowa.

It pops up with a crisp fresh flavor, and the butter and salt burst on your tongue. Alas, it’s chopstickability is the same as regular popcorn, but for those of us without greasy fingers – we just say it lasts longer. We tried butterfly ( which pops with a little hull ) and mushroon ( which doesn’t taste like mushroom, but pops into a bigger, rounder form ) I think either will delight.

You can find this popcorn, grown in the beautiful state of Iowa here: http://www.grubbpopcorn.com/ It’s a special treat to go direct to the family farmer.

Happy popping, maybe next time I can convince my wife to use salt from the Camargue ( Fleur de Sel de Camargue ) we just can’t tell my youngest who happened to visit the salt marshes in France where this salt is harvested. “Dad”, she said – “You know what flamingo’s do in the marshes.”

28 Comments on “premium popcorn – food”

  1. Shannon says:

    I just ordered one of those William Sonoma poppers you guys have. It’s a snack that’s hard to beat!

  2. Bumba says:

    A corny post, but a popper.

  3. reocochran says:

    I have to laugh about what happens in the marshes, (France, wow!) because salt is always boiled and ‘refined,’ right?
    I love popcorn and when I get a chance to buy fresh from farms and local places, I do! Smiles!

  4. Clanmother says:

    Whenever I think of “good times” I connect it with Popcorn!!

  5. Resa says:

    Thank you, Bill! This is great to know about. šŸ™‚

  6. Those nasty flamingos! That popcorn sounds absolutely delish Bill! ā¤
    Diana xo

  7. Two of them use chopsticks. The other two of us use our fingers. šŸ™‚

    janet

  8. jackcollier7 says:

    NOOO. I cannot believe you eat popcorn with chopsticks. Some snacks get one greasy and mucky, that’s part of the fun. And, this from an Englishman who wears a white shirt and tie to go to the cinema.

  9. globalunison says:

    Eating popcorn with chopsticks?? I have really got to try that!!

    -Naima

  10. wow… I actually don’t remember the last time I had popcorn… possibly it’s been as long as it’s been since my visit to Baltimore… though I do seem to remember my mother using a much better pop-effect pot in my pre-micro childhood šŸ™‚

  11. Sabiscuit says:

    I have no popcorn jokes. I am shocked by this.

  12. thatssojacob says:

    OMG. Passover just ended and what was my first craving? Yep, popcorn.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

