a knock in the night

The knock came first, then the doorbell. It was 2:00 AM. Angry, it echoed two notes again and again as whoever it was pounded on the door. Two AM, better put on pants. Such a safe neighborhood, can’t be anything bad, still my left hand ached for a club, a weapon of some sort. Funny how reassuring that can be. Still my doubts plagued me, do I peek first. Screw it, just open the door, take what comes.

It’s two policemen, no a detective and an blue clad officer. Polite, but no nonsense. They ask me my name, have I lived here long. Was I here tonight. Holy crap, they are going to arrest me. What’s your date of birth? Why do they want that?

What do you know about that white car parked two doors down? Nothing? Why what’s going on. Did you hear anything unusual or loud tonight? No, if I do, it is usually the neighbor kids. They ask a few more questions, then politely take their leave. I ask again what’s going on. You’ll know in the morning, as they stepped away into darkness.

With dawn at the end of troubled sleep, a deranged woman slashed and stabbed two children she was babysitting and the murder weapon was in her car. Children and pets, they cannot choose, they look to us for protection. How sad I am for so many children of this generation. Children we failed to protect.

The news story is here, gruesome.


28 Comments on “a knock in the night”

  1. emjayzed says:

    Oh that’s terrible and so, so, sad.

    • billgncs says:

      I was sad for days, the final newspaper report said she told the police “She was mad because her husband didn’t appreciate her”.

      For me, pets and kids don’t ask to be here… it’s up to us to care for them, not harm them.

  2. crazybunny66 says:

    It saddens me to hear about tragedies like this. What kind or world are we living in if even innocent children aren´t safe anymore? You normaly read about it in the paper but having it happen so close by must be really scary.

  3. tedstrutz says:

    Too many stories like this happening… leave the children out of it. Nice take on a gruesome prompt… and if you were indeed, standing there at 2a.m talking to cops… not a prompt at all.

    • billgncs says:

      in this blog the stories are as true as my memory can make them. That was a sad sad day. It took me several days to get over it,

      How could the detective not have been angry and gruff, if he had looked on the scene?

  4. Sheila says:

    wow. my heart aches for them.

  5. These stories are so hard to believe…. but I know they happen every day.

  6. Paul says:

    It’s a tragic story. One that seems too often repeated with variations. What I find also appalling, is the over-zealousness in reporting, an almost gleeful description of the victims last few moments.

  7. boomiebol says:

    I heard it on the news…another sad one happened in New York last month…God help us.

  8. Shannon says:

    Holy Cow! What is going on with your neighborhood?!

    That is sad. 😦

  9. It makes me sick to think of what those last moments were like for the children and… their parents…who can comfort them…it’s just horrible.

  10. janet says:

    If this had happened during the day, it would have been less startling (the knocking, I mean, rather than the murder.) Being pulled from sleep and the darkness seem to make things worse.

  11. i can’t help but share you’re sentiment here. so sad


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.