if elvis likes it….

Among other things like truth and beauty, I am always searching for different root-beers ( soda pop ) in different parts of the country. In New Jersey just across the river from Philly we found this stand.

You drive in and the girls come to the car and take your order just like I remember it. The root-beer at Webers was smooth and delicious with a creme-soda sort of smoothnes while not too sweet. Absolutely worth a taste if you ever stop by.

Even on a cold day, the car hop girls come out to your car to take your order.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But if Elvis recommends it, how can it not be good ?

Even Elvis likes it...

Even Elvis likes it…

It was so good, we bought a 1/2 gallon to take to my daughter and we toasted Easter with a shot glass each of the delicious nectar.

24 Comments on “if elvis likes it….”

  1. I remember this post. I told my sister the next time I visit we have to find this place. Of course I was there last October and didn’t remember. 🙂

  2. julespaige says:

    A & W Root Beer is another good one from the New Jersey Shores… I lived in them there parts in another life. Webers might be the W in A & W?

    Thanks for your 🙂

  3. lol how i miss the old A&W’s! That dates me doesn’t it?!

  4. Deborah says:

    good memories ! yet obesity wasn’t a trend!

  5. Ahh-h you guys are such explorers! I think this is the second or third post I’ve read about root beer on your blog…I think you need to create a root beer tab!

    • billgncs says:

      well yes, when I go to a bar I usually start a tab 🙂

      I think I will take your idea and rate the ones I have tasted. We’ve had quite a few fine wines, but root-beer is so inexpensive and harmless that it makes a nice hobby. I think it’s a little more fun to be different from the crowd, don’t you?

  6. Hahaha! Good one, Bill!

  7. Eric says:

    O, Mr. Bill, I was not convinced until I saw Elvis! 😉

  8. Did Elvis die of Root Beer overdose?

  9. Eric Alagan says:

    Looks like Elvis had a few root beers – okay, you got me sold on this 🙂

  10. Bumba says:

    An expert on truth, beauty, and root beer. Well, one out of three ain’t bad.

  11. Clanmother says:

    It comes in 1/2 gallons – I’m getting one.

    Pippin: What’s that?
    Merry: This, my friend, is a pint.
    Pippin: It comes in pints? I’m getting one.
    (Quote from the movie)

    • billgncs says:

      ha – I picked up a used book at the book-store in Phily ( don’t you just love those bookstores that sit in an old storefront near colleges ) about Tolkien and his stories.
      It is quite insightful.

      Did you ever think that the hobbit and the LOTR are really the same narrative?

      • Clanmother says:

        An interesting thought. I read LOTR first before the Hobbit. I had trouble connecting the two, but thought it was just because the Hobbit was a smaller story that had a beginning and end. And then I found out the LOTR is really a smaller story to all of his mythology…

        I do love those type of bookstores…

        • billgncs says:

          yes, the narrative is very similar, Bilbo is pushed into an adventure, Frodo accepts one. They journey through Rivendell where they get advice. They journey and have to go underground, then there’s a big battle and they part.

          How he grew, and his world grew between the stories he made up for his children and the final books he came to write.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

