foie gras – food Chef Amaury at 33 West

How to celebrate ? Call ahead to your favorite chef and ask them to do a foie gras. It’s not on the menu, but if you’re lucky….

Martinelli Jackass Hill Muscat Alexandria,

Martinelli Jackass Hill Muscat Alexandria,

Start with a sweet white, it adds perfectly to the rich taste of the foie gras.

why not have the main course first ?

why not have the main course first ?

Foie gras, on a roasted lady apple with mushrooms and a heavenly sauce.

Next the big red which opened up wonderfully as we dined.

abadia-retuerta which really rose to the occassion

abadia-retuerta which really rose to the occassion

The salad…

baby greens, dried cranberries, goat cheese, candied nuts and a champagne vinaigrette

baby greens, dried cranberries, goat cheese, candied nuts and a champagne vinaigrette

The soup…

cannellini bean, smoked bacon, onion mascarpone

cannellini bean, smoked bacon, onion mascarpone

For dessert, a cheese plate…

artisanal cheese plate

artisanal cheese plate

A wine infused fig, Amish blue cheese, Bellavitano with a wine rind, pistachios, local cheeses and a drizzle of caramel, organic honey, cranberry jam

Another great meal from Chef Amaury.

26 Comments on “foie gras – food Chef Amaury at 33 West”

  1. This is heavean…my fav…le foie gras, champignons et pomme roti…now what was that special sauce???

    • billgncs says:

      I think the chef’s sauces are guarded more closely than government secrets, but if you love foie gras as I do then I will share the best I ever had.

      My wife and daughter and I were visiting my sister in Avignon. It was night and the stars shone clear as we sat near their pool on a fall night. My sister had gone to the market and picked up the food and now as we sipped champagne from a local vintner we enjoyed the foie gras on a thin slice of baguette, with a pinch of rock salt and a drizzle of home made fig jam. A sip of champagne, a bite – and the flavor of the liver, the salt, the bread and the jam …. very nice

      It was heavenly.

  2. Kristi says:

    Looks delicious. Now I’m hungry. You sure dine well Bill. πŸ™‚

  3. I am suddenly very hungry!

  4. Shannon says:

    The food was great, but the company was the best πŸ™‚

  5. claudia says:

    i LOVE foie gras….

    • billgncs says:

      I first had it a two years ago when we visited my sister in Provence. Jan ( my wife ) and I had flew into Paris and took the train down to Avignon. It was late, we were weary. As we sat outside under the starry sky her dogs at our feet my sister brought out foie gras on a thinly sliced baggette with a sprinkle of salt from the camargue and a drizzle of homemade fig jam.

      We sat under the stars, feasted, sipped champagne and chatted. I was a very good night and the best food I have known.

  6. susank456 says:

    You know how to dine. I am so jealous,

    • billgncs says:

      Thanks Susan – I have had a chance to share some good meals. Don’t you think that good food and wine are always best shared ?

      Jan, my wife is a very good cook but we mostly eat simple fare. When she is away I admit I am limited to juicing or whatever she left me in the freezer.

      Still, that makes the dining out special.

      What was fun here is that I don’t usually care for a sweet white wine, but with the foie gras, it was perfect.

      • susank456 says:

        I absolutely agree! It’s so much more fun when I’m with others.

        During the week I cook all of our meals and it is usually simple healthy food, but on the weekends I can prepare more intricate meals.

        We rarely eat out too, so when we go it is a treat.

        I’ll have to remember the white wine with the foie gras and try it.

  7. you make food, even food I don’t like, like mushrooms…sound better than sex. πŸ˜‰

  8. Clanmother says:

    You know how to celebrate! πŸ™‚


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

